India Won in Hockey

May 26 India Sports Wrap | India Thrash Indonesia 16-0

5/5 - (2 votes)
Rising to the occasion, Indian men’s hockey team crushed Indonesia 16-0, a result that took them into the knockout stage of the Asia Cup.
Source Hockey India
India needed to win the Pool A contest by at least a 15-0 margin to qualify and the young players of the side delivered under pressure. Both India and Pakistan finished on four points each in Pool A behind Japan but the defending champion qualified for the Super 4s due to better goal difference.
French Open 
Sania Mirza along with Czech player L. Hradecká beat Italian pair of J. Paolini and M. Trevisan 4-6, 6-2, 6-1. Rohan Bopanna & Middelkoop defeated Golubev & Martin in straight sets 6-3,6-4 to enter Pre Quarterfinals.
Ramkumar Ramanathan & Reese lost in straight sets 3-6, 2-6 against sixth seeds Koolhof & Skupski. Ramkumar returned to the court again in the mixed doubles match wherein they entered as WildCard but they lost against Hradecka & Escobar 4-6,4-6.
Source ITD
ITF Tunisia
Karan Singh went down fighting to the second seed Skander Mansouri 6-3, 2-6, 6-3 in the pre-quarterfinals of the USD 25,000 ITF men’s tennis tournament.
International Jumping Meet, Kallithea, Athens
Jyothi Yarraji’s broke her own 100m hurdles national record at the Harry Schulting Games in the Netherlands. The gold at Schulting is Yarraji’s third gold medal in three weeks.
The 22-year-old from Andhra Pradesh clocked 13.04s to better her record of 13.11s she set at the Loughborough international athletics meet last week. It was earlier this month, when Yarraji smashed the 20-year-old national record in Cyprus with a time of 13.23s to win gold.
Sharjah Masters chess tournament, Sharjah
Abhijeet Gupta (4.5 points) lost his sixth round game and the half-point overnight lead following a 61-move surrender to Romania’s Bogdan-Daniel Deac. Deac shared the lead at five points with UAE’s Salem Saleh and Uzbekistan’s Nodirbek Adbusattorov, the reigning world rapid champion.
Prominent among the victorious Indians of the day, it was a third victory for D. Gukesh, second for Arjun Erigaisi and first for Nihal Sarin.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *