Bajrang and Antim Lead Indian team for the Hangzhou Asian Games 2023

5/5 - (1 vote)

Written By Saurav Shah
The Indian wrestling team for the Asian Games shortlisted through selection trials held at New Delhi

A total of 18 wrestlers were selected for the 19th Asian Games at Hangzhou with six wrestlers each in Greco-Roman, Women’s freestyle, Men’s freestyle.
The biggest news coming out from the trials was Olympic silver medallist Ravi Kumar Dahiya failing to make the cut after losing in selection trials.
Bajrang Punia (65kg) didn’t participate in the selection trials. He got direct entry to the Asian Games.
Vinesh Phogat who was also selected directly without the requirement of trials, misses out due to knee injury and replaced by Antim panghal.


Asian championships bronze medallist Gyanender will play in the 60kg category.
Sunil Kumar and Vikas will compete in 87kg and 77kg categories respectively.

Neeraj, Narinder Cheema and Naveen will play in the 67kg, 97kg, 130kg categories respectively.

Women’s freestyle:-

Pooja Gehlot, a commonwealth games bronze medallist will play in the 50kg category.
Antim Panghal, the 2022 U-20 world champion, won the selection trials by defeating Manju in the finals she will play in the 53kg category.

Mansi Ahlawat a junior world championships bronze medallist will play in the 57kg category
while Sonam Malik will play in the 62kg Category.
Radhika and Kiran Bishnoi earned the spot in 68kg and 76kg categories respectively.

Men’s freestyle:-

Aman Sehrawat, an Asian & U23 world champion will play in the 57kg category.
Bajrang Punia will play in the 65kg Category.

Deepak Punia sealed the 86kg category by defeating Jonty in the final of the selection trials.

Yash, Vicky Chahar and Sumit Malik will play in the 74 kg, 97 kg and 125 kg categories respectively.

Indian wrestling team

Full squad-:

1. Gyanender – 60kg

2. Neeraj – 67kg

3. Vikas – 77kg

4. Sunil Kumar – 87kg

5. Narinder Cheema – 97kg

6. Naveen – 130kg

Women’s freestyle
1. Pooja Gehlot – 50kg

2. Antim Panghal – 53kg

3. Mansi Ahlawat – 57kg

4. Sonam Malik – 62kg

5. Radhika – 68kg

6. Kiran Bishnoi – 76kg

Men’s freestyle
1. Aman Sehrawat – 57kg

2. Bajrang Punia – 65kg

3. Yash – 74kg

4. Deepak Punia – 86kg

5. Vicky Chahar – 97kg

6. Sumit Malik – 125kg

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *