AFI selects star-studded team for World Athletics Championships Oregon

4.2/5 - (9 votes)
Jeswin Aldrin missed the bus despite achieving the WCQ mark.


Athletics Federation of India has today announced a twenty two member team for the World Athletics Championships to be held in Oregon from 15 July.

The team is on expected lines except Jeswin who after missing out on the CWG list makes a no show here as well.

At the last championships India had sent a 23 member squad for the games held in Doha Qatar, a large number was present largely thanks to the three relay teams selected. This time India could qualify for only Men 4*400 event.

The team includes 17 male & 5 female participants.

At the last championships India had send 13 male & 10 female athletes.

In the Men section India will have only two Individual track athlete participation in Avinash Sable [3000mSC] & M P Jabir [400mH] while the Men 4*400 will be looking to better the NR once again. In the Women section it will be Dhanalakshmi [200m], Aishwarya Mishra [400m, subject to trials] & Parul [3000mSC].

In the field events India has big participation and one would hope to see multiple Finals appearance, possibly an elusive medal after Anju B George effort.

Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra will spearhead the Javelin squad of himself, young Rohit Yadav & Annu Rani. In the Jump events, the new era of Indian athletes will be on feature when five jumpers will be in action. NR holder Murali Sreeshankar & Md Anees Yahiya in long jump & the trio of Eldhose, Praveen & Abdulla in the Triple Jump.

Tajinderpal Toor will be participating in the Shot Put event.

Priyanka & Sandeep will be participating in the 20km race walk competition.

Full Team

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *