Rate this post

Chief Coach Craig Fulton and Hockey India announced a 16-member squad for the Paris Olympics 2024, led by Harmanpreet Singh, with Hardik Singh serving as his deputy.

This team features five debutants and a handful of seniors from the previous edition.
Goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and midfielder Manpreet Singh are set for their fourth Olympic appearance, while skipper Harmanpreet is for his third.

The five players who will make their Olympic debut for India in Paris are Jarmanpreet Singh, Sanjay, Raj Kumar Pal, Abhishek, and Sukhjeet Singh.

India squad are as follows:

India’s first-choice drag-flicker and defender, Harmanpreet, along with Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Sumit, and Sanjay, form the defence  line.

While the midfield will be led by Manpreet Singh, who captained the team to a historic bronze three years ago in Tokyo, along with Hardik Raj Kumar Pal, Shamsher Singh, and Vivek Sagar Prasad.

While the most-favoured PR Sreejesh, got the nod ahead of Krishan Bahadur Pathak as the first-choice goalkeeper.

And the experienced forward line is composed of Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh, and Gurjant Singh.
Krishan Bahadur Pathak, midfielder Nilakanta Sharma, and defender Jugraj Singh have been named as alternate athletes (reserves).

There were a few surprises in the selection, the first being the choice of Sanjay as the penalty corner specialist alongside Harmanpeet in place of Jugraj Singh.

The other one was Nilakanta Sharma, from the 2021 Tokyo squad, whose place has been taken by Rajkumar Pal in the midfield.

The probables who were in contention but missed out were goalkeeper Karkera, forwards Dilpreet Singh, Boby Singh Dhami, and Araijeet Singh Hundal.

Defender Amir Ali, midfielders Vishnukant Singh, Akashdeep Singh, and Mohammed Raheel Mouseen.

India will begin their campaign against New Zealand on July 27, followed by a clash against Argentina on July 29, then against Ireland on July 30, Belgium on August 1, and finally Australia on August 2.

India’s squad:

Goalkeeper: Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran
Defenders: Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Harmanpreet Singh, Sumit, and
Midfielders: Rajkumar Pal, Shamsher Singh, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh,
Vivek Sagar Prasad
Forwards: Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay,
Mandeep Singh, Gurjant Singh.
Reserves: goalkeeper Krishan Bahadur Pathak, midfielder Nilakanta Sharma,
and defender Jugraj Singh.

Written By Naman

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *